User Tools

Site Tools


start

Computer Architecture – Fall 2017 (263-2210-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for Computer Architecture for Fall 2017

Course Information

Description

Computer architecture is the science and art of selecting and interconnecting hardware components to create a computer that meets functional, performance and cost goals. This course introduces the basic hardware structure of a modern programmable computer, including the basic laws underlying performance evaluation.

Objective

We will learn, for example, how to design the control and data path hardware for a MIPS-like processor, how to make machine instructions execute simultaneously through pipelining and simple superscalar execution, and how to design fast memory and storage systems.

Content

The principles presented in the lecture are reinforced in the laboratory through the design and simulation of a register transfer (RT) implementation of a MIPS-like pipelined processor in System Verilog. In addition, we will develop a cycle-accurate simulator of this processor in C, and we will use this simulator to explore processor design options.

Course description page
Moodle

Prerequisites: Digitaltechnik

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Phone Office Hours
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 +41 44 632 88 53
Teaching Assistant (PhD) Hasan Hassan hhasan@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 85 52 Fri. 16.00-18.00
Teaching Assistant (PhD) Mohammad Sadrosadati seyyedmohammad.sadrosadati@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 09 86 Wed. 11.00-13.00
Teaching Assistant (PostDoc) Arash Tavakkol arash.tavakkol@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 35 77 Wed. 16.00-18.00
Teaching Assistant (PostDoc) Lois Orosa lois.orosa@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76 Thu. 16.00-18.00
Teaching Assistant (PostDoc) Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76 Mon. 14.00-16.00
Admin. Assistant Simonetta Zysset simonetta.zysset@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 78 +41 44 632 68 79
start.txt · Last modified: 2017/10/07 21:56 by mohammad