User Tools

Site Tools


start

Computer Architecture – Fall 2019 (263-2210-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for Computer Architecture for Fall 2019

Course Information

Description

Computer architecture is the science and art of selecting and interconnecting hardware components to create a computer that meets functional, performance and cost goals. This course introduces the basic hardware structure of a modern programmable computer, including the basic laws underlying performance evaluation.

Objective

We will learn, for example, how to design the control and data path hardware for a MIPS-like processor, how to make machine instructions execute simultaneously through pipelining and simple superscalar execution, and how to design fast memory and storage systems.

Content

The principles presented in the lecture are reinforced in the laboratory through the design and simulation of a register transfer (RT) implementation of a MIPS-like pipelined processor in System Verilog. In addition, we will develop a cycle-accurate simulator of this processor in C, and we will use this simulator to explore processor design options.

Course description page
Moodle

Prerequisites: Digitaltechnik

Lecture Schedule and Location

Thursday, 12:15-15:00, in HG D16.2
Friday, 13:15-16:00, in HG D16.2

Staff Information

Contact

  • Mailing List: comparch@lists.inf.ethz.ch (sent to instructor and TAs)
  • Office Hours: Monday from 1pm to 2pm, Tuesday from 5pm to 6pm, Wednesday from 10am to 11am (CAB H 31.2)
Name E-mail Office Phone
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 +41 44 632 88 53
Teaching Assistant Mohammed Alser mohammed.alser@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 72
Teaching Assistant Rahul Bera rahbera@ethz.ch CAB D 77
Teaching Assistant Geraldo Francisco De Oliveira Junior geraldo.deoliveira@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2
Teaching Assistant Can Firtina can.firtina@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2
Teaching Assistant Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76
Teaching Assistant Jawad Haj-Yahya jhajyahya@ethz.ch CAB F 72 +41 76 220 11 25
Teaching Assistant Hasan Hassan hhasan@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78
Teaching Assistant Konstantinos Kanellopoulos konstantinos.kanellopoulos@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77
Teaching Assistant Jeremie Kim jeremie.kim@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 24 96
Teaching Assistant Nika Mansouri Ghiasi mnika@student.ethz.ch CAB D 77
Teaching Assistant Lois Orosa Nogueira lois.orosa@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77
Teaching Assistant Jisung Park jisung.park@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77
Teaching Assistant Minesh Hamenbhai Patel minesh.patel@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 65 84
Teaching Assistant Abdullah Giray Yaglikci abdullah.yaglikci@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2
start.txt · Last modified: 2019/10/28 09:12 by juang