User Tools

Site Tools


start

This is an old revision of the document!


Computer Architecture – Fall 2019 (263-2210-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for Computer Architecture for Fall 2019

Course Information

Description

Computer architecture is the science and art of selecting and interconnecting hardware components to create a computer that meets functional, performance and cost goals. This course introduces the basic hardware structure of a modern programmable computer, including the basic laws underlying performance evaluation.

Objective

We will learn, for example, how to design the control and data path hardware for a MIPS-like processor, how to make machine instructions execute simultaneously through pipelining and simple superscalar execution, and how to design fast memory and storage systems.

Content

The principles presented in the lecture are reinforced in the laboratory through the design and simulation of a register transfer (RT) implementation of a MIPS-like pipelined processor in System Verilog. In addition, we will develop a cycle-accurate simulator of this processor in C, and we will use this simulator to explore processor design options.

Course description page
Moodle

Prerequisites: Digitaltechnik

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Phone Office Hours
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 +41 44 632 88 53
Teaching Assistant Mohammed Alser mohammed.alser@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 72 TBD
Teaching Assistant Rahul Bera rahbera@ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Geraldo Francisco De Oliveira Junior geraldo.deoliveira@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 TBD
Teaching Assistant Can Firtina can.firtina@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 TBD
Teaching Assistant Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76 Tue. 14:30-15:30
Teaching Assistant Jawad Haj-Yahya jhajyahya@ethz.ch CAB F 72 +41 76 220 11 25 Wed 11:00-12:00
Teaching Assistant Hasan Hassan hhasan@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 TBD
Teaching Assistant Konstantinos Kanellopoulos konstantinos.kanellopoulos@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Jeremie Kim jeremie.kim@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 24 96 TBD
Teaching Assistant Nika Mansouri Ghiasi mnika@student.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Lois Orosa Nogueira lois.orosa@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Jisung Park jisung.park@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Minesh Hamenbhai Patel minesh.patel@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 65 84 TBD
Teaching Assistant Abdullah Giray Yaglikci abdullah.yaglikci@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 TBD
start.1568988445.txt.gz · Last modified: 2019/09/20 16:07 by jhajyahya