User Tools

Site Tools


start

Seminar in Computer Architecture – Fall 2022 (227-2211-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for the Seminar in Computer Architecture course - Fall 2022

Announcements

Lectures

Thursday, 16:15-18:00. The course will be in a hybrid teaching mode! We hope it is still a safe and fruitful option.

Online Teaching

  • The Zoom link is provided on the Moodle page.

In-class Teaching

  • Please bring your laptop for attending the Zoom meeting in classroom, HG-D-3.2.
  • You are required to comply with any rule imposed by the university.
  • Some TAs will always be in the classroom for assisting you and answering any concerns you may have.

Course Information

Description

In this seminar course, we will cover fundamental and cutting-edge research papers in computer architecture. The course will consist of multiple components that are aimed at improving students' (1) technical skills in computer architecture, (2) critical thinking and analysis abilities on computer architecture concepts, as well as (3) technical presentation of concepts and papers in both spoken and written forms.

Objective

The main objective is to learn how to rigorously analyze and present papers and ideas on computer architecture. We will have rigorous presentations and discussions of selected papers during lectures and a written report delivered by each student at the end of the semester.

This course is for those interested in computer architecture. Registered students are expected to attend every meeting, participate in the discussion, and create a synthesis report at the end of the course.

Content

Topics will center around computer architecture. We will, for example, discuss papers on hardware security; accelerators for key applications like machine learning, graph processing, and bioinformatics; memory systems; interconnects; processing in memory; various fundamental and emerging paradigms in computer architecture; hardware/software co-design and cooperation; fault tolerance; energy efficiency; heterogeneous and parallel systems; new execution models; predictable computing, etc.

Course description page
Moodle
Zoom meetings

Prerequisites

Digital Design and Computer Architecture

Students should (1) have done very well in the “Digital Design and Computer Architecture” course and (2) show a genuine interest in Computer Architecture.

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Phone
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch ETZ G 61.1 +41 44 632 88 53
Instructor Mohammed Alser mohammed.alser@inf.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.1
Instructor Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 64
Teaching Assistant Mohammad Sadrosadati ssadrosa@ethz.ch ETZ H 61.1
Teaching Assistant Rahul Bera rahbera@ethz.ch ETZ H 64
Teaching Assistant João Dinis Ferreira hello@joaof.eu ETZ H 61.1
Teaching Assistant Geraldo Francisco De Oliveira Junior geraldo.deoliveira@inf.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Teaching Assistant Can Firtina can.firtina@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.1
Teaching Assistant Konstantinos Kanellopoulos konstantinos.kanellopoulos@inf.ethz.ch ETZ H 64
Teaching Assistant Nika Mansouri Ghiasi mnika@student.ethz.ch ETZ H 64
Teaching Assistant Abdullah Giray Yaglikci giray.yaglikci@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Teaching Assistant Rakesh Nadig nadigr@student.ethz.ch ETZ H 64
Teaching Assistant Joël Lindegger
Teaching Assistant Ataberk Olgun ataberk.olgun@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Teaching Assistant Nisa Bostanci
Teaching Assistant Yahya Can Tugrul
Teaching Assistant Haocong Luo
Teaching Assistant Banu Cavlak
Teaching Assistant Aditya Manglik
start.txt · Last modified: 2022/09/20 17:29 by firtinac