User Tools

Site Tools


start

Seminar in Computer Architecture – Spring 2019 (263-2211-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for Seminar in Computer Architecture for Spring 2019

Announcements

  • 23 May is the last lecture for the course. The deadline for submitting your synthesis report is 15 August.
  • Next meeting is on April 11.
  • No class on 14, 21, and 28 March. Please invest this time in preparing and meeting your mentors.
  • Paper assignments is ready, please start preparing and meet your mentors.
  • No class on March 7th.
  • HW 0 is due on 4 March 2019, 11:59 pm Zurich.
  • Paper preferences is due on 4 March 2019, 11:59 pm Zurich.

Lectures:

Thursday, 16:15-18:00, in CAB G-61

Course Information

Description

In this seminar course, we will cover fundamental and cutting-edge research papers in computer architecture. The course will consist of multiple components that are aimed at improving students' technical skills in computer architecture, critical thinking and analysis on computer architecture concepts, as well as technical presentation of concepts and papers in both spoken and written forms.

Objective

The main objective is to learn how to rigorously analyze and present papers and ideas computer architecture. We will have rigorous presentation and discussion of selected papers during lectures and a written report delivered by each student at the end of the semester.

This course is for those interested in computer architecture. Registered students are expected to attend every lecture and participate in the discussion.

Content

Topics will center around computer architecture. We will, for example, discuss papers on hardware security; architectural acceleration mechanisms for key applications like machine learning, graph processing and bioinformatics; memory systems; interconnects; processing inside memory; various fundamental and emerging paradigms in computer architecture; hardware/software co-design and cooperation; fault tolerance; energy efficiency; heterogeneous and parallel systems; new execution models, etc.

Course description page
Moodle

Prerequisites: Digitaltechnik

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Phone Office Hours
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 +41 44 632 88 53
Instructor Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 72 +41 44 632 60 76 Mon. 10:00-11:00am
Instructor Mohammed Alser mohammed.alser@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 72 TBD
Teaching Assistant Can Firtina can.firtina@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Hasan Hassan hhasan@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 85 52 TBD
Teaching Assistant Ivan Puddu ivan.puddu@inf.ethz.ch CNB F 107.1 +41 44 633 06 08 TBD
Teaching Assistant Lois Orosa lois.orosa@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76 TBD
Teaching Assistant Giray Yaglikci abdullah.yaglikci@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
Teaching Assistant Nika Mansouri Ghiasi mnika@student.ethz.ch CAB D 77 TBD
start.txt · Last modified: 2019/05/23 11:56 by alserm