User Tools

Site Tools


start

Seminar in Computer Architecture – Spring 2024 (227-2211-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for the Seminar in Computer Architecture course - Spring 2024

Announcements

Lectures

Thursday, 16:15-18:00. The course will be in a hybrid teaching mode! We hope it is still a safe and fruitful option.

Online Teaching

  • The Zoom link is provided on the Moodle page.

In-class Teaching

  • Please bring your laptop to attend the Zoom meeting in the classroom, ML-J34.1.
  • Some TAs will always be in the classroom to assist you and answer any concerns you may have.

Course Information

Description

In this seminar course, we will cover fundamental and cutting-edge research papers in computer architecture. The course will consist of multiple components that are aimed at improving students' (1) technical skills in computer architecture, (2) critical thinking and analysis abilities on computer architecture concepts, as well as (3) technical presentation of concepts and papers in both spoken and written forms.

Objective

The main objective is to learn how to rigorously analyze and present papers and ideas on computer architecture. We will have rigorous presentations and discussions of selected papers during lectures and a written report delivered by each student at the end of the semester.

This course is for those interested in computer architecture. Registered students are expected to attend every meeting, participate in the discussion, and create a synthesis report at the end of the course.

Content

Topics will center around computer architecture. We will, for example, discuss papers on hardware security; accelerators for key applications like machine learning, graph processing, and bioinformatics; memory systems; interconnects; processing in memory; various fundamental and emerging paradigms in computer architecture; hardware/software co-design and cooperation; fault tolerance; energy efficiency; heterogeneous and parallel systems; new execution models; predictable computing, etc.

Course description page
Moodle

Prerequisites

Digital Design and Computer Architecture

Students should (1) have done very well in the “Digital Design and Computer Architecture” course and (2) show a genuine interest in Computer Architecture.

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Office Hour
Instructor Mohammad Sadrosadati mohammad.sadrosadati@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H61.1
Instructor Yu Liang liangyu@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H61.2
Teaching Assistant Haiyu Mao ETZ H64
Teaching Assistant Ataberk Olgun ataberk.olgun@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H61.2
Teaching Assistant Giray Yaglikci giray.yaglikci@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H61.2
Teaching Assistant Can Firtina can.firtina@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.1
Teaching Assistant Geraldo De Oliveira Junior geraldod@safari.ethz.ch ETZ 61.2
Teaching Assistant Rahul Bera rahbera@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H64
Teaching Assistant Konstantinos Kanellopoulos konkanello@gmail.com ETZ H61.1
Teaching Assistant Nika Mansouri Ghiasi mnika@ethz.ch ETZ 61.1
Teaching Assistant Nisa Bostancı nisa.bostanci@safari.ethz.ch ETZ 61.2
Teaching Assistant Rakesh Nadig nadigr@ethz.ch ETZ H64
Teaching Assistant Joel Lindegger jmlindegger@gmail.com ETZ H64
Teaching Assistant İsmail Emir Yüksel ismail.yuksel@safari.ethz.ch OAT U13
Teaching Assistant Haocong Luo ETZ H61.2
Teaching Assistant Banu Cavlak bcavlak@student.ethz.ch ETZ H61.1
Teaching Assistant Lukas Breitwieser lukas.breitwieser@inf.ethz.ch
Teaching Assistant Zülal Bingöl ETZ H61.2
Teaching Assistant Stefano Mercogliano
start.txt · Last modified: 2024/02/20 13:01 by liangyu