User Tools

Site Tools


start

Design of Digital Circuits

Spring 2018 (252-0028-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for Design of Digital Circuits for Spring 2018

Course Information

Description

The class provides an introduction to the design of digital circuitry. The class covers the basics of the technical foundations of gates. An introduction to hardware description languages and their use in the design process follows.

Objectives

This class will be your first approach to Computer Architecture. You will study the design of digital circuits in order to:

  • understand the basics,
  • understand the principles (of design),
  • understand the precedents.

Based on such understanding, you will:

  • learn how a modern computer works underneath,
  • evaluate tradeoffs of different designs and ideas,
  • implement a principled design (a simple microprocessor),
  • learn to systematically debug increasingly complex systems,
  • hopefully develop novel, out-of-the-box designs.

The focus is on basics, principles, precedents, and how to use them to create/implement good designs.

Lectures:

Thursday, 13:15-15:00, in HG F7 (Overflow room: HG F5)
Friday, 13:15-15:00, in HG F7 (Overflow room: HG F5)

Lab sessions:

When? Where?
Tuesday, 15:15-17:00 HG E 19, HG E 26.1, and HG E 26.3
Wednesday, 15:15-17:00 HG E 27
Friday, 08:15-10:00 HG E 19, HG E 26.3, and HG E 27
Friday, 10:15-12:00 HG E 26.1, HG E 26.3, and HG E 27

Prerequisites: None.

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Phone Office Hours
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 +41 44 632 88 53
Teaching Assistant Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76 Tue. 15:00-16:00
Teaching Assistant Hasan Hassan hhasan@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 85 52 Thu. 15:30-16:30
Teaching Assistant Arash Tavakkol arash.tavakkol@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 35 77
Teaching Assistant Jeremie Kim jeremie.kim@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 24 96
Teaching Assistant Minesh Patel minesh.patel@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 65 84
Teaching Assistant A. Giray Yaglikci giray.yaglikci@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76
Teaching Assistant Aritra Dhar aritra.dhar@inf.ethz.ch
Teaching Assistant Daniele Lain daniele.lain@inf.ethz.ch
Teaching Assistant David Sommer david.sommer@inf.ethz.ch
Teaching Assistant François Serre serref@inf.ethz.ch
Teaching Assistant Mridula Singh mrsingh@inf.ethz.ch
Teaching Assistant Patrick Leu patrick.leu@inf.ethz.ch
Student Assistant Giuseppe Arcuti
Student Assistant Alexander Breuss
Student Assistant Salomon Brülisauer
Student Assistant Josua Cantieni
Student Assistant Sven Gregorio
Student Assistant Lukas Gygi
Student Assistant Leo Horne
Student Assistant Chris Mnuk
Student Assistant Johannes Schenk
Student Assistant Alexander Wälchli
Student Assistant Marco Zeller
Student Assistant Patrick Ziegler
start.txt · Last modified: 2018/05/03 12:18 (external edit)