User Tools

Site Tools


start

Design of Digital Circuits

Spring 2019 (252-0028-00L)

Welcome to the wiki for Design of Digital Circuits for Spring 2019

Course Information

Description

The class provides an introduction to the design of digital circuitry. The class covers the basics of the technical foundations of gates. An introduction to hardware description languages and their use in the design process follows.

Objectives

This class will be your first approach to Computer Architecture. You will study the design of digital circuits in order to:

  • understand the basics,
  • understand the principles (of design),
  • understand the precedents.

Based on such understanding, you will:

  • learn how a modern computer works underneath,
  • evaluate tradeoffs of different designs and ideas,
  • implement a principled design (a simple microprocessor),
  • learn to systematically debug increasingly complex systems,
  • hopefully develop novel, out-of-the-box designs.

The focus is on basics, principles, precedents, and how to use them to create/implement good designs.

Lectures:

Thursday, 13:15-15:00, in HG F7 (Overflow room: HG F5)
Friday, 13:15-15:00, in HG F7 (Overflow room: HG F5)

Lab sessions:

When? Where?
Tuesday, 15:15-17:00 HG E19, HG E26.1, HG E26.3, HG E27
Wednesday, 15:15-17:00 HG E26.1, HG E26.3
Friday, 08:15-10:00 HG D12, HG E26.3, HG E27
Friday, 10:15-12:00 HG E26.1, HG E26.3, HG E27

Prerequisites: None.

Staff Information

Contact

Name E-mail Office Phone Office Hours
Instructor Onur Mutlu onur.mutlu@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 74.2 +41 44 632 88 53
Teaching Assistant Mohammed Alser mohammed.alser@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 72 Wed. 13:00-14:00
Teaching Assistant Can Firtina can.firtina@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 Mon. 14:00-15:00
Teaching Assistant Hasan Hassan hhasan@inf.ethz.ch CAB E 78 +41 44 632 85 52 Wed. 14:00-15:00
Teaching Assistant Juan Gomez Luna juan.gomez@inf.ethz.ch CAB F 72 +41 44 632 60 76 Mon. 13:00-14:00
Teaching Assistant Lois Orosa lois.orosa@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 +41 44 632 60 76 Fri. 10:00-11:00
Teaching Assistant Giray Yaglikci giray.yaglikci@inf.ethz.ch CAB D 77 Fri. 11:00-12:00
Student Assistant Alexander Breuss
Student Assistant Salomon Brulisauer
Student Assistant Sven Gregorio
Student Assistant Lukas Gygi
Student Assistant Leo Horné
Student Assistant Gabriela Krasnopolska
Student Assistant Lara Lazier
Student Assistant Nika Mansouri
Student Assistant Artur Melo
Student Assistant Chris Mnuk
Student Assistant Johannes Schenk
Student Assistant Roberto Starc
start.txt · Last modified: 2019/05/13 09:43 by alserm