User Tools

Site Tools


ramulator

Designing and Evaluating Memory Systems and Modern Software Workloads with Ramulator

Course Description

DRAM is predominantly used to build the main memory systems of modern computing devices. Simulation-based experimental studies are key for understanding the complex interactions between DRAM and modern applications.

Ramulator is an extensible DRAM simulator providing cycle-accurate performance models for a variety of commercial DRAM standards (e.g., DDR3/4, LPDDR3/4, GDDR5, HBM) and academic proposals. Ramulator has a modular design that enables easy integration of additional DRAM standards and mechanisms. Ramulator is written in C++11 and can be easily integrated to full-system simulators such as gem5.

In this P&S, you will design new DRAM and memory controller mechanisms for improving overall system performance, energy consumption, and reliability. You will extend Ramulator with these new designs and evaluate their performance, energy consumption, and reliability using modern applications. This will be the right P&S for you if you would like to learn about the state-of-the-art memory controller and DRAM designs and their interaction with modern applications. This P&S will also enable you to hands-on simulate and understand the memory system behavior of modern workloads such as machine learning, graph analytics, genome analysis.

Prerequisites of the course:

  • Digital Design and Computer Architecture (or equivalent course)
  • A good knowledge in C/C++ programming language.
  • Interest in making things efficient and solving problems.
  • Interest in understanding software development and hardware design, and their interactions.

The course is conducted in English.

Course description page Moodle

Mentors

Mailing List: safari-ps-ramulator@sympa.ethz.ch (sent to all mentors)

Name E-mail Office
Lead Supervisor Hasan Hassan hasan.hasan@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Supervisor Geraldo de Oliveira geraldo.deoliveira@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Supervisor Lois Orosa lois.orosa@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Supervisor Giray Yaglikci giray.yaglikci@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Supervisor Jeremie Kim jeremie.kim@safari.ethz.ch
Supervisor Minesh Patel minesh.patel@safari.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Supervisor Haocong Luo haocong.luo@inf.ethz.ch ETZ H 61.2
Supervisor Ataberk Olgun ataberk.olgun@inf.ethz.ch

Lecture Video Playlist on YouTube

2021 Meetings/Schedule

Week Date Livestream Meeting Learning Materials Assignments
W1 14.10
Thu.
Video
M1: Logistics & Intro to Simulating Memory Systems Using Ramulator
(PDF) (PPT)
HW0
W2 22.10
Fri.
Video
M2: Using Ramulator to Evaluate New DRAM and Memory Controller Mechanisms
M2a. CROW
(PDF) (PPT)
M2b. BlockHammer
(PDF) (PPT)
M2c. CLR-DRAM
(PDF) (PPT)

Learning Materials

Assignments

HW0: Student Information (Due: 15.10)

ramulator.txt · Last modified: 2022/01/10 10:11 by hhasan